Journal Writing Prompts

As I was doing research on writing and journaling, I came across this fantastic website called http://www.homeschooling-ideas.com/ which has tons of homeschooling ideas and links. Check out their great site and here I wanted to share one section on journal writing prompts.

    1. My advice to you would be..
    2. It is ten years from today and..
    3. I’m happiest when…
    4. I really hate…
    5. I am proud of myself for..
    6. My biggest wish is..
  • My biggest fear is..
  • If I could change one thing in my life it would be…
  • The thing I like most about myself is..
  • I am grateful for..
  • The three things I couldn’t live without are..
  • If I was the opposite of myself, I would be like this..
  • If I had one day when I could do anything at all, I would..
  • If I could invent a rule that people HAD to obey, it would be..
  • If I was an animal I would be a..
  • If I had a super-power I would want it to be..
  • I think they should invent a..
  • If I had a time machine I would..
  • The best gift I ever got was..
  • When I am old I will..
  • The one thing I will never, ever do is..
  • I want to go and live..
  • 10 things you didn’t know about me are..
  • I think everyone should..
  • The problem with being me is that..
  • If I had $1million I would..
  • If I were on TV I would tell everyone..
  • One thing I should do is..
  • If I were a piece of clothing I would be..
  • If I had to go live on a desert island, I would take..
Journal Picture Prompts

Photographs work really well as journal writing prompts for children (and adults!) in journaling. Images are good at triggering emotions, so they make a good way to explore how you feel about things.

If you work in a book then just cut out the picture and stick it in to use to prompt you. Otherwise my picture prompts come on lined paper – wide lines for younger children and then an older child version.

Surfer in the Ocean

Surfer prompt – wide lines version.
Surfer prompt2 – thin lines version.

Questions and Topics

  • How does the picture make you feel – write about how you feel and why.
  • Surfing is an exiting sport – write about the last time you felt excited or scared about doing something. How did you feel when it was over?
  • What would be the most exciting thing you could think of to happen to you? Describe exactly what would happen.

Winter Moon

Moon prompt – wide lines version.
Moon prompt2 – thin lines version.

Questions and Topics

  • How does the picture make you feel – write about how you feel and why.
  • They say you are ‘wishing for the moon’ if you want something you can’t have. What are you wishing for? Can you really not have it?
  • The moon has cycles. What are the cycles or patterns in your life so far?

Barbed wire in the snow

Snow prompt – wide lines version.
Snow prompt2 – thin lines version.

Questions and Topics

  • How does the picture make you feel – write about how you feel and why.
  • The barbed wire is stopping entry into the field. Where do you feel ‘stopped’ in your life?
  • What do you think you would find over the wire?
Leave a Reply

