Positive Discipline

 

I’ve been experiencing power struggles, tantrums, crying, and disobedience with my 2 yr old son. So far, I was unsuccessful and did not see lasting/positive results with timeout, rules, yelling, and occasional spanking. Actually, I despise these parenting methods, they go against the very core in which we all are… LOVE!

I’ve read a handful of parenting books the last couple years and am pleasantly surprised with my current reading of “Positive Discipline A-Z” from Jane Nelson. I wish I had it sooner!! Actually I wish I can instantly transform my parenting into all of the 316 pages in her book!

So far, I’ve tried to “Act, Don’t Talk” more & be more kind instead of only firm. I’m trying to avoid “timeout” so we can focus on the underlying issue beneath the “bad” behavior. I plan to incorporate more of her lessons until I’ve managed to form a loving, cooperate home for him to thrive in!

Dr. Jane’s method is all about respect and allowing your child be who he is while providing long-lasting teachable moments. Life skills children can learn. “Positive Discipline is not about punishment or control. Rather it is about instructing, educating, preparing, training, regulating, skill building, and focusing on solutions. Positive Discipline is constructive, encouraging, affirming, helpful, loving, and optimistic.”

 I went ahead and got “Positive Discipline for Preschoolers” and have found it even more resourceful for the age I’m currently dealing with. If your finding yourself in a similar situation of the awful toddlerhood stage then you have to read this book!

2 thoughts on “Positive Discipline

    • Ms. Nelsen, Wow, I feel so privileged that you have read my blog review on your educational book. I’m not completely finished reading the entire book because I have been trying to incorporate some of the lessons in the first part of the book. It seems to take a lot of effort to try to break the previous bad parenting habits, like talking too much! So far, I’ve tried to “Act, Don’t Talk” more & be more kind instead of only firm. I’m trying to avoid “timeout” so we can focus on the underlying issue beneath the “bad” behavior. I just can’t thank you enough for writing this book. I’m getting your “First Three Years” next because he is only 2 yr.’s old. I plan to incorporate more of your lessons until I’ve managed to form a loving, cooperative home for him to thrive in!

Leave a Reply

